Thursday, February 14, 2008

A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel

Fans of David Sedaris and Dave Eggers will undoubtedly appreciate this memoir by Kimmel, nicknamed "Zippy" because of her boundless energy as a child. Growing up in Mooreland, Indiana (population: 300), Kimmel regales readers with stories of her youth, family and eccentric neighbors with a quirkyhumor and surprising sense of sarcasm. The fight between her father, their next door neighbor, and a few dozen hounds is definitely entertaining.
Overall, Kimmel's vignettes come together for a charming narrative and the book concludes on an especially nice note.

No comments: